New Wheatbelt Development Commission Board Appointments

New Wheatbelt Development Commission Board Appointments

Minister for Regional Development, Hon Brendon Grylls MLA has re-appointment Darren West as Chairman and Paul Tomlinson as a community representative to the board of the Wheatbelt Development Commission.

Mr Tim Shackleton, Ms Karin Day and Mr Leigh Ballard have also been appointed as new members and will bring a range of skill sets to the Board who provide essential strategic development guidance for the Wheatbelt region.

Tim Shackleton has worked in the country health sector for the past 15 years including Regional Director of WACHS- Wheatbelt and as Chief Executive officer of the Royal Flying Doctor Service. Mr Shackleton brings a wealth of industry knowledge which will assist in improving service delivery in the Wheatbelt.

Ms Karin Day has a background in agriculture and regional development as she is passionate about the future of regional Western Australia. Ms Day is a recently elected councilor on the Westonia Shire Council and will bring an important Wheatbelt Central East voice to Wheatbelt decision making.

Mr Leigh Ballard the owner of a successful business in the Wheatbelt South. Leigh has extensive commerce experience and is passionate about his community and improving business within it.

Mr West said the skills and knowledge of the new appointees would be invaluable to the board.

“We look forward to hearing their views at the upcoming Commission Board meeting and annual ‘Friends of the Wheatbelt Dinner’ in February” said Mr West


Media contact:     Breanne Chrimes (08) 9622 7222
Date:            23/01/2012

Not Archived
Creation Date: 
Friday, 10 February 2012